A Review of the Habitica App

Emily Fox
6 min readJul 29, 2019

I’ve been using Habitica since 2016. At the time I joined, I was struggling to reincorporate structure into my daily routine. I wanted to be more productive and spend less time on distraction behaviors like gaming, television and social media.

I tried lots of different time management methods and apps, but once I found Habitica, there was no looking back. Habitica is unique because it has a built-in system to help keep you motivated. As an avid gamer, this RPG-styled productivity app was a natural draw for me. After three years of almost daily use, Habitica is essentially my desktop landing page; I can’t imagine life without it!

About Habitica

Habitica (formerly known as HabitRPG) is a free task management app that launched in 2013. It works a bit like a turn-by-turn RPG. As you complete tasks and goals, your character advances; when you fail to follow through on those same goals, your character takes damage.

Although it’s more about productivity than playing a game, Habitica is fun to play and does a good job of turning your to-do’s and objectives into real-life quests to advance your in-game hero.

--

--